Acorn Squash and Sweet Potato Soup

You guys. I told you. I have an addiction.

Finished SoupI can’t stop making soup. And therefore I can’t stop eating soup. I’d say it’s bad, but it’s really just so, so good.

Acorn SquashThis recipe is adapted from Tartlette. I’m sure I’ll be making it again, although I will admit it was missing… something. I still can’t put my finger on it. More maple syrup? Apples? Bacon? Probably bacon. But I don’t eat pigs anymore, so that idea’s shot. Suggestions, please?

Sweet Potatoes & OnionBut other than the missing ingredient, this soup was pretty good. I ate it for about a week after I made it, so it couldn’t have been terrible, right? It did pack a lot of flavor. Squash based soups are always so deliciously creamy without all the extra calories. Plus, they’re chock-full-o-nutsvegetables so they’re like, healthy or something.

What You Need:

  • 2 mini acorn squash, peeled and cubed (about 3 cups)
  • a little more than 2 tablespoons of olive oil, divided
  • 1 sweet onion, coarsely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon curry powder
  • 3 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 8 cups vegetable or chicken stock 
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • dried spices to taste (thyme, rosemary, oregano, nutmeg, whatever you can find!)
  • coarse salt and freshly ground pepper

What you Do:

1. Preheat the oven to 375F.

2. Put cubed squash in a baking dish, drizzle with one teaspoon of olive oil (or use your handy dandy MISTO!!!) and roast until soft – 20-30 minutes.

3. Heat about a tablespoon of oil in a large soup pot over med-hi heat. (le sigh, someday I will have my Le Cruset cookware…). Add the onion and curry powder and cook until onion is soft and almost translucent.

Onion & Curry Powder4. Add sweet potatoes, stock, syrup, spices, and cooked squash. Bring to a boil for a moment, then simmer, uncovered, until potatoes are soft. (This should take about 30 minutes.)

Simmering Soup

5. Let the soup cool a bit, and then blend the ish out of it with your immersion blender. If you don’t have an immersion blender, you can use a blender or food processor.

Blended Soup

 

What’s your favorite winter soup? Any I should try to recreate here?

Finished Soup 2

 

1 Comment

Filed under Cooking, Recipes

One response to “Acorn Squash and Sweet Potato Soup

Leave a Reply

