Chicken Schnitzel and Brussel Sprouts

Full Meal

Growing up, we had a pretty standard list of dinner options that we cycled through weekly: Spaghetti (with sauce from a can usually), Stouffer’s Lasagna, meatloaf, baked chicken with bar-b-que sauce, and my favorite – chicken schnitzel. I’m pretty sure that traditionally, schnitzel is made with pork, but my dad grew up in Israel, where pork is hard to come by. Jewish schnitzel = 100% chicken.

Schnitzel Cooking

This is one of those recipes that you could make your own, this is just my family’s take on it. It’s still one of my favorites, and is up there with spaghetti as one of my go-tos in the kitchen.  It’s one of the only ones I make regularly that I don’t use a recipe for 🙂 This is alllll from my memory baby. This meal can be made in about 30 minutes, and tastes like it’s out of a restaurant kitchen. (Maybe it’s all the oil? Who knows.) I dip mine in honey. I have no idea why, but it’s delicious. Dan uses ranch. My brothers have been known to use ketchup. Whatever you do, it’s okay to make it your own!

Schnitzel Cooked

What You Need (Schnitzel):

  • 1 lb of chicken breast, thinly sliced 
  • 1-2 eggs, beaten
  • 1-2 cups of Italian seasoned bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup of vegetable oil

What You Do (Schnitzel):

  1. Heat oil in large skillet on med-hi heat.
  2. Lightly beat the chicken with a meat tenderizer. (If you don’t have one of these, or if you’re lazy like me, it’s okay to skip this step.)
  3. Dredge chicken first in egg, then in bread crumbs. Be sure to thoroughly – this is what gives your chicken that beautiful brown crispiness!
  4. Place chicken (carefully!) in HOT oil, it should sizzle as you put it down, and cook until golden brown on one side. Flip and repeat on the other side.
  5. Place on a plate with a paper towel underneath to catch the excess oil.
  6. Serve over rice or mashed potatoes with a vegetable.

What You Need (Brussel Sprouts):

Sprinkled Sprouts

  • As many brussel sprouts as you can eat, quartered
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 tbsp of Olive oil

What You Do (Brussel Sprouts):

Cooked Sprouts

  1. Preheat oven to 400 F.
  2. Place quartered sprouts on a baking sheet – I line mine with tin foil for easy clean up
  3. Mist or pour olive oil on sprouts, coating evenly – I use my Misto and I LOVE IT IF YOU DON’T HAVE ONE GO GET ONE RIGHT NOW!
  4. Salt and pepper to taste – you can play with the spices. I also use garlic powder occasionally
  5. Bake in preheated oven for 20-25 minutes, until edges start to turn brown and crispy
4 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Recipes, Try it and See

4 responses to “Chicken Schnitzel and Brussel Sprouts

  1. Mom

    A) The spaghetti sauce was from a jar not a can and usually included ground meat HAND cooked B) We had other things like sweet and sour meatballs over rice, Tuna casserole, beanie weenies, sloppy joes, fish sticks, porkchop casserole and even an occasional brisket or roast….and turkey and ham on holidays.. You see…your family actually inspired you to love cooking! (and eating) 🙂

  2. Lorraine

    No liver?
    I use flour and a shpritz of lemon sometimes. Need to make brussel sprouts..

Leave a Reply

