The Dawn of a New Era – Reese’s Cheesecake Brownies

Today is Dan’s last day at his job. The only job he has had since he was in intern at the same company over seven years ago.

final with reece's

Because I am a (self-proclaimed) awesome fiancee, when Dan asked if I would be willing to make one last tasty treat for the guys in the office, I couldn’t say no. After all, how on earth are they going to survive without my delicious treats? Dan’s expertise?

Mix batter

So, the office is probably currently feasting on my delectable Reese’s Cheesecake Brownies (recipe slightly adapted from Pip & Ebby), and I want to share their experience with you with pictures and words, since you can’t taste it yourself. Unless you work at Dan’s office. Then you are a lucky bastard.

reece's pieces

While you’re feasting your eyes on these bad boys, can you help me with something? I have an opinion/favor to ask of anyone who reads this little bloggy blog. You see, I love writing about my life, however I sort of get that my day-to-day experiences may not be super riveting to anyone else. It sometimes feels like my blog lacks a focal point. I mean, it’s not a “wellness” or “healthy living” or “food” or even “wedding” blog. It’s all of those things, depending on what’s going on in my life. As a reader, do you prefer to read blogs with one focal area? I’m hesitant to put myself in a box and label myself as any one sort of blogger, because I love writing about all things. That said though, I do want to keep people entertained and coming back! So tell me, even if I don’t pick one thing to write about everysingleday, what do you like to hear about most?

  • Recipes/food
  • Wedding updates
  • Goal updates
  • Fitness
  • Jameson 🙂

Jameson

I will pick a random comment and send you cookies 🙂

Now, onto the good stuff:

final post bake

Reese’s Cheesecake Brownies (recipe from Pip & Ebby)

What You Need:

  • 19.5-oz box of chocolate fudge brownie mix
  • 8-ox package of softened cream cheese
  • 14-oz can of sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/2-cup of creamy peanut butter
  • 12-oz package of Reese’s Pieces candies
  • 12-oz bag of milk chocolate chips
  • 3 tablespoons whipping cream (or half and half or milk)
  • 12 large Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, chopped

What You Do:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly coat a 9×13 pan with cooking spray. (I use an olive oil & water mixture in my Misto.)
  2. Prepare your favorite packaged brownie mix according to package directions. Spread batter in pan and set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, beat softened cream cheese with a hand-held mixer until fluffy.
  4. Add in your sweetened condensed milk and peanut butter and beat until smooth.
  5. Stir in Reese’s Pieces candies.
  6. Spoon peanut butter mixture over the brownie batter and spread evenly using a spatula.
  7. Bake for 40 minutes or until the cheesecake layer is set and the edges are golden brown. Cool for 30 minutes and refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  8. Add chocolate chips and whipping cream to a small microwaveable bowl or double boiler. The idea here is to melt the chocolate chips (without burning them). In the microwave, I usually do about 30 second increments, stirring each time until smooth.
  9. Spread over the cheesecake layer. Sprinkle chopped peanut butter cups over the top. Store covered in the refrigerator.

final

20 Comments

Filed under Baking, Recipes

20 responses to “The Dawn of a New Era – Reese’s Cheesecake Brownies

  1. Wow, what a lovely bake! Hmmmmm, I can tell it’s real yummy! =)

  2. Ryan

    I like the randomness. Like hearing updates about old friends. If i had to pick one….goal updates.

    • Awesome, thanks Ryan! I will keep that in mind. 🙂 I want to start posting goal updates once a week or every other week. Let’s see how it goes…

  3. dad

    Where are my cookies? (sad face)

  4. Mom

    I’m with Ryan on the randomness, but my vote might not count….your blog is my way of keeping up on whats going on with you and dan and jamison and sometimes others…. don’t pick me for the cookies as I will eat them all and i am REALLY trying to stick to my diet 😦

  5. Kristin

    Everything. I like the randomness.

  6. Kate

    I think random is the way to go-its a way for you to look back and see where life took you as we’ll as a way of sharing your experiences! Keep your readers interested by trying to tie in the topic to them and allow them to see how they relate in their own way! Plus if they are truly devoted readers-they enjoy the way you write and that’s what keeps them coming back 🙂

    That recipe looks delicious and are on my “to make” list 🙂

    • Good point Kate. Sometimes I forget that I started this blog for me after all. It’s good to keep readers engaged, but the best way to do that is to write about what’s important to me! I hope you were referring to yourself as one of those devoted readers 🙂

  7. Samantha Jones

    Love the randomness too!! I love my Lara updates 🙂 those brownies look amazing!!!!!

  8. Jennie

    As your sister, I love the randomness. But I can see how a newcomer/stranger might get confused. However, I love seeing all your updates – recipes, wedding, life, Jameson, etc. Maybe start reading Dooce.com. I think she technically categorizes herself as a “Mommy Blogger” but she does a little of everything – including fashion! Maybe her writing will give you some inspiration.

  9. Lorraine

    Keep doing exactly what you’re doing. I win. ( but like your mom, no cookies!!)

  10. Frances

    As long as I enjoy the person’s writing I want to read it all, so you are good. I do appreciate peices that have something useful for future experiences, whether it’s recipes or advice you’ve learned from planning a wedding. Does that help?

    • So helpful! Thanks Frances. 🙂 I am working on my meaningful/useful advice and trying to tie things together so others can relate to them… keep the suggestions coming!

Leave a Reply

