On Weddings on a Budget

It’s November, and Thanksgiving is so soon! I haven’t taken part in the “Something you’re thankful for every day” trend on Facebook, but I am thankful for a lot of things.

Wedding budgets suck. Seriously, I don’t know how people ever stick to them! So far, Dan and I have signed contracts for:

  1. A venue
  2. Caterers
  3. Photographers
  4. A dress

And our budget is preeeetty much maxed out. Not to mention most people spend thousands of dollars on DJs, flowers, officiants, cakes, etc.

Here’s the part where I get thankful.

Of the things we still need, our friends and family are stepping up and helping us in so many ways!

  • In lieu of a DJ, we have decided to use the My Wedding DJย app, and my brother Jacob said he and his band can lend us their PA system. So awesome, and also free! Thanks Jacob and friends! Our reasoning behind this was that while we want to have a fun dance party, we think it will be awesome to be able to pick out our own play list. It’s like making a very customized soundtrack to the best day of our lives. How cool is that? We are hopefully going to have a link on our wedding website where people can request songs, to make everyone involved!
  • Speaking of wedding websites, my sister Jennie is going to make us an awesome one! I’m so excited to see it!
  • I’ve written before on how we were struggling on finding someone to officiate our wedding. After I delegated the task out to Dan, we met with a Rabbi and contiuned to ย email with a few more options, but none really seemed to fit what we were looking for. Dan came to me with the idea of asking his Uncle David if he wanted to get ordained online, and officiate for us. Iย loved this idea! David is Jewish, active in his temple community, knows us, and is going to help us make the ceremony as personal and custom to us as possible. David agreed, and we couldn’t be more excited!
  • I was initially a bit concerned about the price of flowers. We don’t want to have big centerpieces, because we’re serving our dinner family style so there won’t be a ton of room. Dan doesn’t really want boutonnieres for his groomsmen, so that really only leaves bouquets for the bridal party and something small for moms. So we couldn’t really justify spending a ton of money and we threw around a few ideas: Costco, DIY, etc. What we ultimately ended up with was even better ๐Ÿ™‚ My dad has a beautiful garden and green house at his B&B where he grows flowers, herbs, vegetables, and fruit. He offered to arrange all of our wedding flowers for us, and is even going to try to grow them in his garden! It will mean so much more knowing all the love that went into them than it would to buy them. I know they will be beautiful!

So that leaves us with cake… so far I’m still working on an affordable way to get that one. If you know anyone who bakes/decorates cakes and is willing to barter for rooms at The Mark Addy Inn, let me know! Otherwise, I’ll keep you posted on the progress.

Thankful for all my family and friends pitching in to help us in any way they can. Happy almost Thanksgiving!

6 Comments

Filed under Wedding

6 responses to “On Weddings on a Budget

  1. I loveeeee how creative you are! The wedding app is awesome.

  2. Hey! I found your blog through Gretchen’s site…it looks great!
    The cake issue: We got married in April on a tight budget, and got a smaller, pretty cake (served about 30 people), and then a couple of sheet cakes (double-layer so that the slices looked the same!) that were sliced in the kitchen then served. It still wasn’t CHEAP-cheap, but it saved us a ton of money! Isn’t wedding planning on a budget just a blast? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hope all goes well!

    • Thanks so much for your comment, Catherine! I’m glad my guest post on Grechen’s blog is bringing me more readers ๐Ÿ˜€ And I just checked out your blog too – very fun! Thanks for your advice on the cake. That was our original plan – get a pretty, small cake and then a few sheet cakes from Costco and call it a day. But I’m pretty sure a friend of a friend is going to do cupcakes for us at-cost, which would be fantastic! I will keep the readers posted ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Tram "chum"

    Hey! Ran across your blog on FB so much fun! I don’t know how big or fancy of a cake you want but I’d be more than happy to help ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve been making cakes for birthday parties and doing my friends’ wedding cake this march.

Leave a Reply

