Dress Shopping, Part 2

After my first appointment, I was feeling pretty confident. I had a good idea of what I didn’t want, which was a step closer to knowing what I did want. I didn’t mention in my last post that I was also not feeling 100% health wise, which might have been adding to (or can possibly be attributed to?) the nerves situation.

So, onward! We caravanned in two cars to Alexandria so we could visit my second appointment, Katherine’s Bridal Boutique in Alexandria. After a quick Noodles & Co. stop for lunch we marched on in and immediately I started to try things on. The vibe in this shop was a little different – much busier and I didn’t feel that the attendant helping me was as in tune with what I wanted. As the day went on, I wasn’t finding “The One”, and was sort of coming to terms with the fact that I wasn’t going to have a “moment” like they do on Say Yes to the Dress. By 5:00 pm, I was dress shopped out, and still didn’t have a clear winner. So, we called it a day with no purchases made, and went out to an awesome dinner with my family, Dan’s family, and some friends to a hibachi grill. My stomach was finally feeling better, and I knew the next day would be more successful!

Fast forward to the next day. We visited an Alfed Angelo store in Springfield, which was a really different and fun experience. (Side note: If you love Disney princesses, this is THE PLACE for you to go! The designer has taken all the Disney princess gowns and turned them into wedding and bridesmaid gowns. So cool. Unfortunately, I’m not a princess type.) The attendant was so, well, attentive. she asked all the right questions and really got a feel of what I was looking for. I brought in a list of ten or so dresses I saw on the website that I wanted to try, so away we went! I tried and tried and tried and finally I got to try the one that was pretty similar to the favorite from the day before – the contender from Ann’s. This dress was cheaper by about $800, and I liked it, but I didn’t love it. I tried it on twice and kept trying to talk myself into loving it, because for $800 just liking something was good enough, right?

Well, I decided not to make any decisions at that time, which turned out to be a very good decision in hindsight. Some advice for future brides: when in doubt, don’t. (Thanks Lorraine!)

I ended the weekend feeling accomplished, but not successful. No dress purchased, no decisions made. Now what?

1 Comment

Filed under Wedding

One response to “Dress Shopping, Part 2

  1. Pingback: On Simultaneously Planned Weddings | tryitandseeblog

Leave a Reply

