Run!

Anyone who knows me knows that I am not a “runner” by nature. In elementary school, when they made all the kids run “the mile”, I was always the chubby-ish kid finishing dead last feeling sweaty and nauseous the rest of the day. When I played rec soccer, they turned me into a goalie because I couldn’t keep up with the rest of the team.

I’m not telling you this so you’ll think I had a terrible child hood riddled with mean kids who teased me all the time. I’m telling you this so you’ll understand what it means when I say, “I RAN A FREAKING 5K LAST WEEKEND!”

So, I’ll say it again. I RAN A FREAKING 5K LAST WEEKEND. All 3.1 glorious miles of it. I ran the Color Run with Katie (my best friend) and Patrick, (my roommate, best friend’s fiancé, and runner extraodinaire). I did a little bit of “training”. Over the last few months I’ve been running on and off, working on the Couch to 5k app on my phone and running around the 2 mile loop of a lake near my house with Jameson every now and then. Just last week I was able to run around the lake without stopping, and I was so proud of myself! I was a tiny bit worried about the 5k, because (a) I hadn’t run more than 2 miles in a row yet and (b) I was running with Patrick, who runs ultramarathons for funzies. Yeah, he’s crazy. Let’s move on.

Dan came as moral support/photographer. What a nice fiancé I have 🙂

Anyway, I made it! Slowly but surely, 35 minutes after we started our jog, all 3.1 miles, four color stations, and a lot of doubts were behind us. I’ll let the pictures tell the rest of the story.

1 Comment

Filed under Try it and See

One response to “Run!

  1. Frances

    Totally Awesome!

Leave a Reply

