Wait. You’re Doing It Wrong!

Today’s post brought to you by the letter R… for Rant. I’m about to get up on my high horse – fair warning.

Anyone who knows me knows that I am not a religious person in any way. That being said, I have religious friends, I have non-religious friends, and I try my best not to be (overly) judgmental. I’ve spoken to a handful of my Christian friends about this today, and they all, unsurprisingly agree with me. Calling yourself a Christian, but adopting such a “holier than thou” attitude is probably one of my biggest issues with the church. Guys like this give Christians a bad name, which is really a shame, because many of them are really wonderful people.

That is why when I read this article, I got rubbed the wrong way (pun intended). (Granted, it came from foxnews.com, so, well, there’s that.) For someone who claims to be part of a judgment free organization, this douche has got things all mixed up in that little head of his.

I have a few bones (heh) to pick with this. Let’s get started:

  1. No one likes to be told they are wrong. To say that waiting until marriage is “doing it right”, implies that any other way is wrong. Wait, scratch that. He didn’t imply. He said, in so many words, “I’m right, you’re wrong, and there’s nothing you can do about it.” Real mature. Based on the last paragraph of this article, I gather that the very loose (heh. Heh.) point he was trying to make was that it was worth it to wait. That is a respectable argument. There are many respectful and intelligent ways to share that sentiment. Pointing fingers and judgment are not at the top of the list.
  2. Judgmental Christians. Sound like an oxymoron? Again, I’m not a religious person, but I can point out quite a few Bible verses that state judging others is for God and Jesus alone. My favorite quote from this article is, “Feeling judged? I couldn’t care less. You know why? Because my wife and I were judged all throughout our relationship. People laughed, scoffed and poked fun at the young, celibate, naive Christian couple.” Translation? I was judged and it sucked so now I’m judging you. What happened to turn the other cheek? What happened to not paying attention to the speck in your brother’s eye while you have a plank in your own? What happened to being the bigger person? If you know how it feels to be judged, why would you pin that horrible feeling on someone else? So many questions for you, Christian douche.
  3. Derogatory terms towards women (and actually towards men, too). The terms floozies, promiscuous charlatans with pathetic world views, schmuck, live-in harlot, and mimbo were all mentioned. Respect goes both ways, and just because I choose to live my life in a way that doesn’t line up with your religious beliefs does NOT make me any of those things, which brings me to my next point.
  4. “It is very hard to argue in a world where we don’t agree on facts!” – Bill Maher. While this quote actually has nothing to do with religion in its original context (I actually think Bill was talking about Global Warming, which I’m sure this dude doesn’t believe in either), I think it still holds true here. We don’t have the same beliefs. Therefore what is “right” for you may not be “right” for me. I know many people may, but I would never say another couple is choosing to live WRONG. If you want to wait, you wait. If you don’t want to wait, don’t wait. If you want to get hammered and be “that guy at your own freaking wedding”, that’s between you and your partner and whatever God you believe in, if you choose to believe in one at all. Condemning the world to the black and white of right and wrong is so narrow minded and just plain idiotic.

“I think it’s important to write this column not to gloat (though I’ll be glad to), but to speak up for all of the young couples that have also done things the right way. When people do marriage right, they don’t complain so much, and so their voices are silenced by the rabble of promiscuous charlatans, peddling their pathetic world view as “progressive.”” (Is there a statistic anyone can share with me on this statement? I’d like to see the facts that say people who shack up before marriage complain more.)

This whole column sounds an awful lot like gloating to me. I’m actually okay with gloating. What bothers me is that he is trying to persuade other (probably younger) people to walk his walk. Calling people names, telling them they’re wrong, and being so narrow minded you couldn’t walk down that blessed hallway to the gates of Heaven is no way to convince others that what you are doing is “right.” I can think of many people I respect who have waited. I respect them all because they either didn’t talk about it at all, or they did a great job of explaining why it was important for them to wait. How it strengthened their relationship with each other and their God. Why they did it for themselves. Not so they could gloat and tell the rest of the world they are “doing it wrong.”

All I have to say is, good luck doing it at all, bud.

2 Comments

Filed under Try it and See

2 responses to “Wait. You’re Doing It Wrong!

  1. whitney

    the guy is just embarrassed cause he had a small dick and didn’t want to show his wife before she signed on!

Leave a Reply

