To Infinity…

… And Beyond.

At least that’s how long I feel it’s been since last weekend when I went to Blacksburg. I had big ideas for this blog last week. I was going to write about a failed (and I mean FAILED) attempt at crock-pot pulled chicken sandwiches. I was going to write about my epic trip to Blacksburg to visit friends. (Don’t worry, those details still coming.) But you know, life got in the way. I wish I could say with what, but… nope. I just didn’t write.

To be honest, I have no idea how bloggers find the time to write every day. So many times per day I think, “I should blog about this!”, and then I just don’t find the time. I’ll tell you a little secret. When I blog more than one day in a row, it’s probably because I sat down and hammered out multiple posts at once, and put them on a timer to publish on a certain day and time. Any other bloggers out there struggle with this? Any tips?

Anyway, I digress. Blacksburg. I graduated from Virginia Tech in 2009, and went back twice in 2010. Once for Halloween and once for graduation. I haven’t been back since, so it was really awesome to go visit some friends who stuck around, eat the delicious food, and just relax.

Yeah. You’re jealous. At least if you ever spent a substantial amount of time in Blacksburg you are. Cabo Fish Taco is a staple to Blacksburg living, and it was just as good as I remembered.

Even better, really, because I was with such great company. I drove down with my friend Brandon, who I worked with at Bull and Bones (foreshadowing!) in Blacksburg, and now work with at Cvent. We were going to meet up with Carrie, another B&B comrade, and I thought while I was down there I’d try to see an old friend Grover and his girlfriend, who I’d never met. She turned out to be even awesomer (is that a word?) than I expected, and THEY brought a friend to lunch, too. Blacksburg is such a small town that there is almost ALWAYS a connecting link, and it turns out that Carrie and Brandon knew Grover and Johanna’s friend, Chris, and thus the party came full circle. Everyone was friendly, everyone had a great time (and more than a few margaritas.)

The afternoon progressed with brewskies and chatting at Grover’s friend’s house, stopping for some staples at the grocery store (most of which ended up unused… I still really want those brownies!!), and home to Carrie’s house to cook a dinner of epic proportions.

But not before hanging out with the ponies.

Yeah, that’s right. Carrie lives on a horse farm. She is literally living my dream. I did plenty of chastising because she admitted she hardly rides, and it paid off – she texted me last week telling me she rode 5 times in one week. That’s RIGHT, don’t let that gift go to waste!

So dinner – well, I’ll let the pictures do the talking.

The next day, I got to ride a beautiful black pony. But first, Brandon’s first riding lesson!

Then my turn.

Then Carrie’s.

Then lunch at Bull & Bones! Back to our old stomping grounds. We ended the trip the same way we started. Good food, good people, good times.

And then a speeding ticket.

Oh well, you can’t win ’em all.

3 Comments

Filed under Ponies, Try it and See

3 responses to “To Infinity…

  1. I love this post! I wish that we had taken more people shots like the people we had lunch with. Boo.

Leave a Reply

