Chicken Tikka Masala

So, my sister and I have this joke that Dan, my boyfriend, doesn’t really have tastebuds. He’ll eat pretty much anything (save a few key veggies like tomatoes or mushrooms), and everything is “okay”, or “fine”.

Except this.

Dan said that this was “really good.” He even took the leftovers for lunch the next day. And texted me to ask what it was called. And then told me it was good again. Success? I think so.

Anyway, I’m glad he liked it. I sure did. This is actually the third time I’ve made this dish, and I’ve cooked the chicken slightly differently each time. Every time it was delicious, if I do say so myself. This time, for the sake of time (and therefore my sanity), I decided to broil the chicken. This is probably how I’ll do it from now on because it (a) took about 6 minutes and (b) was delicious.

So I’ll just get on with it then. This dish was a Pinterest find (aren’t they all?) and originally came from Favorite Family Recipes. As always, I slightly tweaked a few things, but this was a pretty solid recipe. Definitely go check out their site!

What You Need:

For the Marinade

  • 1 cup yogurt (any kind will do – I even accidentally used Vanilla before and it was still delicious. Though I’d stick to plain if you can.)
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp freshly ground pepper
  • 1 Tbsp minced fresh ginger. Here I used about a tablespoon of ground ginger instead of fresh
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-size pieces

For the Sauce

  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 8oz. can tomato sauce
  • 1 cup heavy cream

What You Do:

  1. In a large bowl, combine yogurt, lemon juice, cumin, cinnamon, cayenne, pepper, ginger, and salt. Stir in chicken, cover, refrigerate up to 1 hour. I only had time to marinate for about 25 minutes, but I’m sure the longer the better.
  2. While the chicken is marinating, make the sauce: Melt butter in a large skillet. Saute garlic for 1 minute. Season with cumin, paprika and salt. Stir in tomato sauce and cream. Simmer on low heat until sauce thickens, about 20 minutes.
  3. About 10 minutes into the simmering, line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and place the chicken under a broiler set to High. They really only need about 7-10 minutes, so check at about 5 and flip if you want some browning on both sides.
  4. Once your chicken is cooked (no pink center), and your sauce has been simmering for 20 minutes, add chicken and continue to simmer for 10 minutes.
  5. Transfer to a serving platter and serve over rice.


2 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Recipes

2 responses to “Chicken Tikka Masala

Leave a Reply

