How Do I love Sundays?

Let me count the ways.

Hey, okay, I know it’s Thursday. It’s been a busy week.

But Sundays. When you get an honest-to-goodness, real, relaxing Sunday… Well, I just don’t think there’s anything better.

You can see from the picture above that my Sunday was pretty great. I woke up and took Jameson to the Dog Park, where he, my 60 pound mutt, was the smallest dog there! I kid you not. The dog count went something like this:

  • 4 Bernese Mountain Dogs
  • 3 German Shepherds
  • A gaggle of labs and retrievers
  • 1 Great Dane
  • Jameson

It was so awesome. He thought he was one of the big dogs, and insisted on wrestling with the biggest guys there.

Anyway, I know why you guys really come here. Sure maybe the hook of puppy pictures brings you in, but just like the dogs, you come for the food. Which brings me to my second adventure of the day: French Toast Muffins. Thank goodness for (1) Pinterest and (2) A stocked baking cabinet. I woke up hungry, checked my boards and found something I had all the ingredients for, and 30 minutes later, voila! Breakfast!

This recipe originally came from Velvet Lava. I tweaked a few things, and, well, it was awesome. I brought the leftovers to Book Club later that evening and they were a hit. Without further ado:

French Toast Muffins (aka Snickerdoodle Muffins)

What You Need:

For the Muffins

5 Tbsp butter, melted
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg
1 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 c. milk (I used Vanilla Silk)

For the Topping
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 tsp. cinnamon

What You Do:

Preheat oven to 350F.

  1. Combine all dry ingredients in a medium sized bowl. Add wet ingredients and stir until combined.
  2. Scoop batter into greased or sprayed muffin tins (I used my awesome olive oil spritzer. You could use olive oil, butter, or Pam).
  3. Divide evenly into your 12 muffin tins. I got 12 small-ish muffins, but you could be more generous and get 8-10 larger ones. (I liked the smaller muffins so I could roll them in the topping mixture).
  4. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until they just start to turn a bit golden at the edges.
  5. For the topping, mix sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl.
  6. Place melted butter in another small bowl.
  7. Dip the warm muffins in melted butter (you can dip just the top, but as per the recommendation from Velvet Lava I dipped the whooooole thing!
  8. Dip/roll the muffin in cinnamon sugar.
  9. Devour

Since it is already Thursday, and I’m realistically not going to write a post about my week from Sunday to now, I wanted to also talk about my two book club meetings this week. Yes, two. I’m so popular.

Book club #1 met Sunday night (enter leftover muffins, blue moon, cheese spread, and Puck the kitten.) We discussed “The Fault In Our Stars”, which is a young adult novel about a 16 year old girl with lung cancer. It sounds depressing, but it was actually quite funny, witty, heartbreaking, and fascinating all at once. We all really liked it, and I encourage anyone looking for a quick read (or good audio book, apparently) to give it a try.

Book club #2 met Tuesday night, and there was a FABULOUS spread of food.

And also some fabulous beverage refreshments courtesy of Marie.

Here, we discussed A Tree Grows In Brooklyn by Betty Smith. This is a timeless novel about a girl who grows up in Brooklyn in the early 1900s. We had a great discussion about some of the main themes, and overall, I think everyone really liked it.

All in all, a good Sunday, good week so far, and a super freaking long post.

Leave a comment

Filed under Baking, Book Club, Puppies, Recipes

Leave a Reply

