“The World is Not a Wish-Granting Factory”

I just read a really good book. The Fault is in Our Stars by John Green. I highly recommend it to anyone who likes YA Lit. The title of this post is a quote that was used several times in the story, and while my life sufferings do not come close those of Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters, it’s a quote that keeps coming back to me.

“The world is not a wish-granting factory.” The 16 and 17 year old characters from the book were both suffering from what Hazel calls “a symptom of dying” which is cancer. Their world really should have been a wish-granting factory, but it wasn’t.

My world is not so tough. It’s quite good, actually. But sometimes, I do wish I had a wish-granting factory. I would use it for good, of course. Help those in need and all. Also, I would be a little selfish, as I’m sure most of us would.

Maybe that’s why the world is not a wish granting factory. The world wants us to work for our wishes, so when we get them it’s because we earned them. And if we don’t get them in the end, well, I guess that just means someone else deserved it more.

Happy wishing!

1 Comment

Filed under Book Club, Try it and See

One response to ““The World is Not a Wish-Granting Factory”

  1. Interesting

    What page in the book is this quote on?

Leave a Reply

