A Real Try it and See Meal

I’m sensing a common theme to my cooking habits. A few themes, actually:

  1. I eat a lot of chicken. A lot.
  2. I don’t have time for fancy meals during the week.
  3. I love my garden.

Now that we have those out of the way, let’s talk about the impromptu awesomeness that was dinner at my house last night. For those of you who don’t know, I live in a house full of boys. Seriously, even my dog is a boy. It’s my boyfriend Dan’s house, and the two of us live with our two good friends Jake and Patrick, (and of course the pup Jameson). Jake is Dan’s best friend from high school, and Patrick is one of my best friends from high school. He just happens to be dating one of my VERY best friends from high school, so it all works out. Katie often graces our male-dominated household with her lovely feminine presence. Win.

Anyway, I digress. Dinner. Impromptu awesomeness. Naturally, and I swear I’ll get better at this people, I didn’t take pictures of the finished products. I got too hungry and we ate it all up. I got home and Patrick was in the kitchen talking some nonsense about how he’s going to try to make mashed potatoes without cream, milk, cheese, or anything that’s good in the world. He told me he wanted to try “Vegan Mashed Potatoes” because he was “fascinated.” I wasn’t fooled. He was trying to healthify the best food on earth. I tried my best to be supportive as he whirled up his Rice Milk and started boiling his potatoes (with no butter or sour cream in sight), but I had my doubts.

To mask the fear that was consuming my mind, I decided to make myself useful by coming up with what we would eat WITH these “mashed potatoes.”  I decided on chicken (duh), but couldn’t think of what to do with it. Dan gave me the idea to do something with honey mustard, and I was off!

I whipped up some honey mustard and used it as an egg wash so I could coat the chicken in bread crumbs. I threw it in a baking dish and baked at 375 for about 20 minutes.

Meanwhile… Patrick was busy with his own creation. When we finally met at the end to devour each others’ creations, I think we were both pleasantly surprised. Vegan mashed potatoes? Sort of delicious. And as healthy for you as a potato can be, considering it’s a potato. They were creamy and flavorful and, well, as delicious as if they had butter and cream and cheese and deliciousness. Okay, they might have been better with cheese, but what isn’t, honestly?

Here’s what we did:

Weirdly Delicious Vegan Mashed Potatoes:

 Ingredients:
  • 5 or 6 medium sized potatoes
  • 1 cup rice milk
  • 2 tablespoons Olive Oil (or Sunflower Oil)
  • Seasonings to taste (we used fresh green onions and chives, basil, and garlic, plus salt and pepper to taste)
To make the rice milk add one cup of rice (white or brown) to four cups of water and one tablespoon of olive oil. Blend until liquid.

Steps:

  • Boil potatoes until soft (skins on or off, your choice), set aside
  • Mix together rice milk and olive oil, and add softened potatoes to mixture.
  • Mash until smooth
  • Add seasonings

Honey Mustard Chicken:

Ingredients:

  • Chicken breasts or strips, thawed
  • 2 tablespoons of honey
  • 2 tablespoons of yellow mustard
  • 1 tablespoon lite Corn Syrup
  • Diced fresh parsley
  • Bread crumbs (about a cup)

Steps:

  • Combine honey, mustard, corn syrup and parsley
  • Dip chicken into honey mustard mixture to coat
  • Coat in bread crumbs
  • Layer chicken in a baking dish and drizzle very lightly with olive oil. (Spray if you have a spray bottle)
  • Bake on 375 for 15-20 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink in the center

2 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Recipes, Try it and See

2 responses to “A Real Try it and See Meal

  1. Jennie

    To make the rice milk – do you use cooked rice or uncooked?

Leave a Reply

