Garden Roulette

Mondays are tough. I have a riding lesson in Haymarket at 7:30 am Monday mornings, and I don’t get to work until 10. That means I stay until 7 pm, so by the time I get home, the last thing I want to do is put together an elaborate dinner. Luckily, I now have a whole garden of fresh herbs to choose from, and my tomatoes have slowly started to ripen. I had some defrosted chicken in the fridge, so, it didn’t take a ton of creativity to decide what to do:

Chopped some parsley, basil, and rosemary. Sliced my tomatoes. Slabbed some olive oil, salt, and pepper on those bad boys, and baked at 375 for 25 minutes. This is what my friend Gretchen would call a game of Pantry Roulette. In this case, Garden Roulette. I’ll try to post a recipe, but it’s really just a little of this and a little of that. Change it up however you want!

Fresh Herb and Tomato Chicken Breast:

  • 3 boneless, skinless, chicken breasts
  • 2-3 small to medium sized tomatoes
  • Handful of freshly chopped parsley
  • 5 large chopped basil leaves
  • Sprig of chopped rosemary
  • Olive oil
  • Salt & pepper
  1. Chop herbs and slice tomatoes
  2. Cover chicken breasts with olive oil, salt and pepper
  3. Cover with fresh herbs and layer tomatoes on top
  4. Bake in 375 oven for 25 minutes
  5. Devour

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Recipes, Try it and See

Leave a Reply

