Book Club Update

I did it! I can’t believe it, but I actually did it. I read like the wind and I finished the book, We Need To Talk About Kevin, before 7 pm last night for our book club meeting. Phew. What a marathon.

I’ve never been in a book club before, so this has been a really fun experience for me. (Well, that’s not completely true. I’m technically in another book club, too, but I’ve yet to make it to a meeting. I do read most of the books though – SORRY Stephanie! I’m trying I promise!) Anyway, this book club is comprised of me, my sister, Jennie, her friend from work, Ashley, and Ashley’s friend, Molly. It was so cool to sit in a room with people who, aside from Jennie, I hardly know, and talk about such a LOADED book.

Here’s how my night went:

Jennie and I were planning to meet for dinner at Bonefish Grill in Chantilly. I work in Tyson’s so I was really worried traffic would be a bitch and not let me get there in time. Well, somehow, the traffic gods were on my side, and I got there before her! This was actually REALLY good, because it gave me a chance to fly through the last 10 pages or so while I waited for her. (Talk about last minute, jeez.) Dinner, of course, was great (if not REALLY early – we are both used to eating late – at like 8 pm).

Then, we putzed around the shopping center for a while because it was only 6 pm and the “Team Meeting” as Ashley’s fiance so nicely put it didn’t start until 7. When we got to Ashley’s, I got the nice surprise of being able to play with her guinea pigs, Mumford and Oswald. (I didn’t get very good pictures of them, but I tried!)

Then, the wine started flowing, the food started coming out of the woodwork oven, and we started talking about Kevin.

Overall, I think we all really liked the book. At first, I wasn’t so sure, because it does start out kind of slowly. But the author does a really good job of character building and story telling, and making you really want to know and understand the characters. It is not by any means a happy book, but it was a good read, and really different than anything I would have picked for myself. So, yay book club and broadening horizons.

And of course, yay wine (and Ashley’s pretty glasses!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Club, Try it and See

Leave a Reply

