Veggie Pot Pie

For most of my life, I’ve been telling myself and others that I am a really fast reader. I think last night I proved myself wrong. I have a book club meeting tonight (my first ever!) and I gave myself about two weeks to read the book, sure that I would have enough time. Well, life got in the way, and I had read less than half by last night. So, I hunkered down. I made dinner and then I read. I read from about 7 pm to 11. That should have been plenty of time to finish the 300 pages I had left in the book. But, alas, by 11 pm, I still had 100 pages left and had lost my will to keep going. So, here we are. I’ll try to jam it in on my lunch break and see how far I get.

Anyway, I decided to make a quick and easy (and semi-healthy) dinner so I could focus my time on reading instead of standing in the kitchen all night.

I scoured my Pinterest “Foods” board and decided on this Vegetarian Pot pie Recipe. I’m not a vegetarian, but I don’t eat a lot of red meat (mostly chicken and seafood for me), so this worked out really well, and it was delicious! Of course, as always, I changed a few things.

One thing I’ve started to do that is super helpful, is prepare ALL of my ingredients before I start cooking. This seems like common sense, but I used to just start at the top of the recipe and scramble to chop, measure, and cook everything as I went along. Let me assure you, the new way is better. So, I chopped, diced, and sliced everything up nice and pretty before I got started, which actually worked out super well. Since this only takes about 40 minutes total to cook, I wanted to wait until Dan was on his way home from work. So after my chopping extravaganza, I had time to sit on the couch and, you guessed it, read!

Here’s my variation of Vegetable Pot Pie

Source

Ingredients:

  • olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, diced
  • 1/2 medium onion, sliced or diced
  • 1 large shallot, diced
  • 2 small leeks, sliced
  • 1 carrot, diced (I used a handful of baby carrots)
  • 2 celery stalk, diced
  • 1 cup diced potatoes
  • 2 cups diced crimini mushrooms
  • 2 heaping tablespoons flour
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable broth
  • a splash of cream
  • 2 teaspoons fresh or dried thyme
  • 2 teaspoons fresh or dried parsley
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 sheet of store-bought puff pastry, defrosted if frozen
Steps:
Chop, measure, prepare:
Preheat oven to 400°F.

Heat oil in a large pot over medium heat and add garlic, onions, shallots, leeks, carrot, and celery. Cook until shallots are translucent, about 5 minutes. Add potatoes and mushrooms, then season with salt and pepper. Cook until mushrooms reduce, about 5-6 minutes.

Sprinkle flour over vegetables. Stir to coat and cook for 2 minutes. Stir in broth and cream and mix until smooth. Bring soup to a simmer and cook for about 5-6 minutes, until slightly thickened. Turn heat off and stir in herbs and frozen peas. Season with salt and pepper, if needed.

The original recipe used ramekins to cook individual servings. I don’t have those, so I just used my 8×8 Pyrex baking dish. To prepare the pie(s), cut a 1/2-inch strip of puff pastry dough. Dampen edges of your baking dish (or dishes) with water and curl pastry strips around the top of the pots. Fill with the vegetable filling. Dampen the tops of the pastry strips and top each pie sealing the edges with a fork. Prick with your fork or add slits in the top of each pie to vent. Here’s where I wish I had bought one BIG sheet of puff pastry dough instead of individual squares. (I originally thought I was doing the ramekin thing). Because my pastry didn’t stretch over the whole thing, it didn’t really “puff up” and get crispy like it was supposed to.

Cook the pot pies for about 20 minutes, until tops are golden brown and puffed. Cool for a few minutes before serving.

It was so good! Just the right consistency and so filling. Like I said, I wish the dough had “puffed” a little more, but it was still a success.

I hope my speed reading skills are as successful today. Wish me luck!

3 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Recipes

3 responses to “Veggie Pot Pie

  1. Jennie

    On a scale of 1:10, how allergicy is this? And would it work with coconut or almond milk, do you think?

    • Not at all! It calls for a splash of cream but I used soy milk and a little extra flour. You could get away with no dairy at all, except what is in the pastry.

Leave a Reply

