Garden Variety

I have never really had a green thumb. Then again, I’ve never really tried too hard. I’ve been putting seeds and seedlings into pots all spring and summer and calling it gardening, and I think it’s finally paying off!

I have basil, parsley, cilantro (just for you, Katie!), green onions, and chives all ready to use. I’m growing oregano and tomatoes that aren’t quite ready to harvest yet.

Yesterday, I got my hands dirty and planted some onions, red peppers, and jalapenos.

I mean, really dirty.

Anyway, I’m excited to be able to make my own dishes completely with ingredients from my own garden. Pasta sauces should be really great by the end of the summer 🙂

Jameson was convinced there was something in the shed. After he gave up digging trying to get under it, he just stood there, not understanding why we were allowed to dig and he wasn’t. Preposterous!

2 Comments

Filed under Gardening

2 responses to “Garden Variety

  1. I love this! I keep telling myself that I want to plant an herb / vegetable garden but with my black thumb, I’m sure it’d be a disaster (not to mention a tiny white schnauzer with a proclivity for digging). I foresee some fresh tomato, basil, and mozzarella salads in our future, yes? 😀

    • YES! I’m looking forward to some fresh Caprese this summer for sure. That’s largely why I chose to use pots, instead of an in-ground garden. One, it’s easier to move around for ultimate sun exposure; and two, Jameson would dig in/pee on everything other wise.

Leave a Reply

