Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Banana Bread Twilight Saga… What?

So apparently I OMG NEED to blog about this Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Banana Bread that I made on Saturday night, because I wasn’t going to but then three different people asked me for the recipe so I will (even though I have one sad lonely picture of the empty bread pan. Fail. New Year’s Resolution!)

Banana Bread

But a picture of an empty pan means it was enjoyed and not wasted, so I’m not complaining!

But before the recipe, a brief review of Breaking Dawn Part 2 – the end to the Twilight Saga:

(Spoiler alert – I felt the same way when the book series ended.)

Wow. I just did that. Again. It was worth it. I’m glad it’s over.

Okay but really it was the best of all the Twilight movies, which isn’t really hard to accomplish. The acting was slightly less awkward, and there was an epic fight scene (and a bit of vampire sexy time), so all in all, not a bad flick. But I am not-so-secretly glad I won’t be shelling out $12 a pop for any more of those gems. The time spent with Sabrina though, priceless :)

Okay, so, this bread. Of course the original recipe came from my favorite blog How Sweet It Is, but I changed it a little. I actually 1 and a halfed the recipe (not quite doubling it) and it made: One bread loaf, one 8×8 pan of brownie like bread, and one muffin pan (12 muffins). That’s a lot of bread. You probably don’t need to do that, but I have a bad habit of buying bananas, not eating them, and throwing them into the freezer saying, “I’ll make banana bread some time!” and then never making banana bread…

Also, instead of PAM or other spray, I’ve been using a mixture of olive oil and water in a spritzer, and it works just as well and makes me feel better about my ozone contribution. And arteries. Slightly.

Enjoy!

What You Need:

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2 ounces cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 4 large bananas, mashed
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup mini chocolate chips

What You Do:

Mash yo bananas.

Preheat oven to 350.

Cream butter, cream cheese, and peanut butter until smooth. Add brown sugar, egg and vanilla, mixing well for about 2-3 minutes. Mix in bananas and heavy cream until smooth. Add flour, baking soda and baking powder and mix until combined. Fold in chocolate chips.

Pour batter in a greased loaf pan and bake for 60-70 minutes.

PS Happy Chanukah/Hanukkah/however you choose to spell or celebrate it! I had latkes twice this weekend and I could not be happier!

1 Comment

Filed under Baking, Recipes

One response to “Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Banana Bread Twilight Saga… What?

  1. Sabrina

    Thanks dude! Apparently only my mom took a picture of all the baked goods this weekend, so maybe it comes with age?

Leave a Reply

