Hello Kitchen, I’ve Missed You

I’ve been in a bit of a slump. Not just a blogging slump, but also a cooking slump. Which probably partially explains the blogging slump. But I’m back, baby!

Enter Shrimp Burgers with Chipotle Cream and Peach Salsa. From where else? One of my favorite blogs, How Sweet Eats. Seriously, if this girl knew how often I re-blogged her recipes she would either (a) hug me or (b) sue me. I can’t decide. I hope she knows I give credit where credit is due – this is all her genius. I’m just a copy cat!

This meal. This meal was so good. And pretty easy. A tiny bit time consuming, but I have a great Sous Chef. (Thanks D!)

Without further ado. Shrimp Burgers with Chipotle Cream and Peach Salsa.

For The Burgers

What You Need:

makes 6 burgers

  • 1 pound raw, peeled and de-veined shrimp
  • 2/3 cup seasoned Panko breadcrumbs
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard (I used regular yellow because I didn’t have Dijon)
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoons dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 6 whole wheat buns, toasted
  • 1 avocado, sliced for topping

For the Chipotle Cream:

  • 1/2 cup light sour cream
  • 2 teaspoons chipotle sauce
  • 1/2 lime, juiced

What You Do:

Add shrimp to a food processor and pulse until chopped. (Mine kind of got pureed, but it still worked out.) Transfer to a bowl and add egg, panko, garlic, mustard, salt, pepper, paprika, onion powder and basil. Mix until combined, then form shrimp into patties (form tightly with your hands, trying to prevent cracking). Heat a skillet oven medium heat and add half of the olive oil, then cook patties until golden on each side, about 3-4 minutes. Repeat with remaining burgers.

In a bowl, stir together sour cream, chipotle sauce, lime juice and a pinch of salt and pepper. Spread on top of burgers, then layer with avocado and peach salsa!

For the Coconut Peach Salsa

What You Need:

  • 2 ripe peaches, peeled and chopped
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped red onion
  • 2 tablespoons freshly chopped cilantro
  • 1/2 lime, juiced
  • salt + pepper to taste

What You Do:

Stir ingredients together and serves on top of burgers. This originally called for toasted coconut, but Dan hates coconut so I was going to put it just on mine. I ended up forgetting and it was still amazing.

Thanks, Jessica!

2 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Recipes, Try it and See

2 responses to “Hello Kitchen, I’ve Missed You

  1. Wow! This sounds fantastic!!

Leave a Reply

