Searching For The Perfect Wings

I am a Wing Nut. I worked at Bull & Bones in college, where I got my first taste of really, really good wings. Followed up with Billy Jacks Wing and Draft Shack in Harrisonburg, where one of my best friends lives. This is not the first time I have mentioned Billy Jack’s on this blog. It likely will not be the last, because they have some bangin’ wings.

And then I moved to Fairfax. I have yet to find a really, really good wing joint up here, and it’s killing me! (If anyone knows of one, PLEASE speak up!)

So, instead of searching in vain for somewhere to purchase delicious wings, I decided to attempt to make my own! I made Cola Glazed Baked Wings from Steamy Kitchen (steamykitchen.com). They turned out okay. I wasn’t overly thrilled with the amount of stickiness, but I guess I should have seen that coming, seeing as they’re made with brown sugar and cola glaze. The taste was good, but they were a little too sticky for my taste. Still, they’re worth a shot, and are better than some of the sorry excuses for wings I’ve tasted in this town.

What You Need:

  • 1 cup cola (I used Dr. Pepper)
  • Juice of 1-2 limes
  • 1 1/2 cups firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1 jalepeno, finely minced (remove seeds and ribs before mincing)
  • 2 pounds of chicken wings
  • 1/4 tsp coarse salt
  • Freshly ground black pepepr
What You Do:
For The Glaze:
In a small sauce pan, bring soda, lime juice, brown sugar, and minced jalapeno to a boil over high heat. Once boiling, decrease heat to medium-low and simmer until mixture is syrupy, about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Keep warm over low heat.

For The Wings
Season wings with salt and pepper, and pour half of the glaze mixture over the wings. Toss to coat, and keep the remaining sauce warm over low heat.

Once glazed, place the wings on a tin foil lined baking sheet. (Seriously, do not try to do this on an unlined baking sheet. You will never forgive yourself.) Position an oven rack 4 inches below the broiler element in the oven. Set the broiler to low, and bake wings for 10 minutes per side, brushing twice on each side with extra glaze.

Serve up to your friends as an appetizer, side dish, or main course.


Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking, Recipes, Try it and See

Leave a Reply

